+44 7393 450837


Follow on

Warning: malicious activities

Many people are worried about staying safe online and with that in mind, I would like to write a brief article about some malicious activities.

It is a sad reflection of the world we live in today, that success and traction, leads to a small minority of people trying to take advantage of our name.

I remember reading an article about Alan Sugar, the host of the UK’s Apprentice, who was targeted by some fake adverts as per his tweet below:

a1 23
Warning: malicious activities 3

The same thing happened to a UK finance guru, called Martin Lewis, when scammers took advantage of his name, to dupe some old people to buy some fake coins with the dubious (and fake) ads as per below:

This started to happen to us last year when some people started to use fake profiles of me on Quora.  

It isn’t 100% certain that they were using my name to try to scam people, but we have to be vigilant about people using false identities!

Examples of such fake profiles include this one.  There are countless fake Quora profiles claiming to be me.

Now clearly, it is obvious that these profiles are fake as they are promoting Bitcoin and have 0-10 followers and not 18,000+! 

However, we are always vigilant that more intelligent tactics might be used.  

So to guard against this, remember a few basic things:

  1. My only contact details are listed here.  If somebody is claiming to be me, from another email address, even if they are using my name, it is probably fake.  If you are unsure, you can email me the email and I can confirm 
  2. I never send private Quora messages to my followers unless they first send.  
  3. I never promote Bitcoin, individual stocks or 99% of other things.
  4. I never ask for money to be paid to a personal account – neither mine or another person. We only use third party platforms/banking solutions. In order to fund those platforms, a client first needs to fill out an application form and get approved.  So again, if somebody is asking for money using my name, it is almost for sure fake 
  5. If something doesn’t feel “right” it probably isn’t.  I occasionally get emails to my personal email (adamfayed@hotmail.co.uk) claiming to be from adamfayed@hotmail.co.uk!  Again, use common sense here.  If somebody has set up a fake email in my name, and they are promoting Bitcoin, it is fake. If it is from me, your common sense should know that.  

If you want to email our security department, you can send to this email – security@adamfayed.com 


Top Content

Top Articles
Personal Financial Planning Investment Options Godwin Capital Review
HSBC Expat Review
Getting Money Out of China
Best Investment Options for Canadian Expats
Best Investment Options for UK Expats
Best Investing Options for American Expats
Best Investment Options for Australian Expats
Regency for Expats Review
Capital International Group Review
RL360 PIMS Personal Investment Management Service Review
Investors Trust Access Portfolio Review
Investors Trust S&P 500 Review: Should You Buy?
Novia Global Review: Do Better Options Exist?
Custodian Life Review 2023
Evelyn Partners Review: This is Why You Shouldn't Buy as an Expat
Sarwa Dubai Review 2023: Is This a Good Idea?
Dominion Capital Strategies Guernsey Review
Utmost International Professional Portfolio Plan Review
Utmost Worldwide Choice Review
Hansard International Capital Investment Bond A Review
Hansard International Universal Personal Portfolio 2023 Review
Utmost International Quilter Collective Investment Bond Review
Utmost International Collective Redemption Bond Review
Utmost International Executive Redemption Bond Review
Utmost International Managed Capital Account Review
Hansard International Vantage Platinum II Review
Zurich International Vista Savings Plan Review
St. James’s Place Review 2023: Should You Buy?
Premier Trust Review
RL360 Regular Savings Plan Review
RL360 Quantum Savings Plan Review
Friends Provident International Premier Advance Savings Plan Review
Friends Provident International Reserve Bond Review
RL360 Oracle Offshore Bond Review for Expats



Gain free access to Adam’s two expat books.

Gain free access to Adam’s two expat books.

Get more strategies every week on how to be more productive with your finances.